2014 Kangaroo Point Cycling Club Track Carnival

Kangaroo Point Cycling Club proudly presented the 2014 Kangaroo Point Cycling Club Track Carnival on Sunday 21 December 2014.

The carnival was held in perfect conditions just days before Christmas with a strong field of riders including local heroes Nathan Graves and Hayley Jones as well as Lara Tucker; sister to the 2014 Austral Wheel Race winner Brook Tucker from the Tucker track cycling lineage.

Our feature Women’s 5 Lap Handicap was a spectators dream for the 100 strong crowd with almost perfect handicapping resulting in a 4 rider wide finish separated by less than a tyre width.  The scratch riders pushed hard from the start but just missed the middle markers who overtook the limit woman Danieka Jones (Kangaroo Point CC) within a wheels length of the finish line. Melissa Crossman (University CC) took first place, with Natasha Walmsley (Lifecycle CC), Danieka Jones (Kangaroo Point CC) and Sue Cruikshank (Kangaroo Point CC) completing the podium

Our feature Men’s Kangaroo Point Cycling Club Memorial Wheelrace featured a large field spread around the length of the track. The pace was fast from the start with the various groups working hard to pull things together. During laps three and four it was James Sheffield (Kangaroo Point CC) and Matthew Wynn (Kangaroo Point CC)  that did the majority of pacemaking for the middle markers to bring them within a few metres of the Limit Man. After a late surge it was Brendan O’Connell (Balmoral CC) just holding out over Sratch rider Nathan Graves (University CC) for the win. Jack Leigh (Balmoral CC) and Patrick Kennedy (Sunshine Coast CC) rounded out the podium.

Results from the 2014 Track Carnival can be found here.

Our next track carnival will be held in December 2015.